Would You Brush Your Teeth With Sand?

Just a few days ago, I had an experience that I never dreamed would happen…and weirdly enough, I enjoyed it so much, that I would actually recommend it to other people.

We were on Fraser Island with Pippies Beachhouse Backpackers. Their three day/two night “tag along” tour was jam packed with 4×4 beach driving, swimming and exploring the beautiful, diverse landscapes. First stop: Lake McKenzie, the most visited and picturesque spot on the island.

img_8065

Fun fact about Fraser Island: It holds more than half of the world perched lakes, and over forty are found here alone. A perched lake contains only rainwater, so it’s not fed by streams and does not flow to the ocean. The sand forms a layer around the lake so the water is unable to drain away, making it so pure, it becomes unsuitable for many species. If you’re lucky, you may find the odd turtle though!

When you think of sand, it’s rough, crunchy (which you’d know if you’ve ever been unfortunate enough to experience sand in your mouth) and it gets everywhere, even after you’ve left the beach. No one wants to find sand in their ears a few days later… how does it even get there!?

What makes Lake McKenzie so unique is that it is a perched lake, with pure, white silica sand. It’s not only beautiful to look at, but incredibly soft. You can open your eyes underwater, and use the sand as a super fine exfoliate.

We spent ages scrubbing our faces, arms and legs, fascinated by the smoothness of our skin afterwards. You can even use the silica sand to wash your hair (which we tried)!

IMG_8107

I know the exact look you would give me if I asked you to brush your teeth with sand.

I’ll admit, I was sceptical at first, and I thought our tour guide was joking when he recommended it as Lake McKenzie, but I did it: I brushed my teeth with sand.

The sand was just as soft as when I used it on my skin, and certainly wasn’t crunchy like I was expecting. Not surprisingly, you can damage to your teeth if you brush with sand for too long. Matt and I were careful to spread a thin layer, like we would with toothpaste, and rinsed thoroughly. The combination of sand and lake water left my teeth felt clean and smooth afterwards. I’ll be honest, I really enjoyed the experience.

I wouldn’t recommend going to your local beach and trying this, but it’s an absolutely must if you’re travelling to Fraser Island!

— Ally

4 thoughts on “Would You Brush Your Teeth With Sand?

Add yours

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑